Sean O'Brien

Sean O'Brien


Sean O’Brien is a poet, critic, broadcaster, anthologist and editor. He grew up in Hull and lives in Newcastle upon Tyne. He is Professor of Creative Writing at Newcastle University, Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and 2007 recipient of the Northern Rock Foundation Writer’s Award. His selected poems, Cousin Coat: Selected Poems 1976-2001 was published in 2002 and his new verse version of Dante’s Inferno in 2006. 

His first six individual poetry collections, which all won awards, include The Drowned Book, which won both the 2007 Forward and T S Eliot Prizes. A book of short stories, The Silence Room, was published in 2008; Afterlife, his first novel, and Night Train, a collaborative work of poetry and drawings with Northumberland artist Birtley Aris, were published in 2009. His seventh poetry collection, November, is the 2011 Poetry Book Society Summer Choice and shortlisted for the T S Eliot Prize.

Photograph by Caroline Forbes

Poems & translations

Denotes poem / translation featured on website

reviews & features

- No reviews or features published in MPT -

Go Digital

Subscribe to the digital edition of MPT for access to all back issues and to the Exactly app. » View free trial issue

Contributor and student discounts

If you are a student, or if you contribute to MPT you are eligible for a great discount deal when you subscribe… » Subscribe now

Back to top
Supported by Arts Council England

Copyright © Modern Poetry in Translation and contributors
Website design ashbydesign
Developed by Code Frontiers
Powered by Storemill