Rivka Miriam


Rivka Miriam was born in 1952 in Jerusalem, where she continues to live and work. Daughter of the renowned Yiddish writer Leib Rochman and named for his mother and sister who perished in the Holocaust, Rivka Miriam's first poetry collection was published in 1966, when she was fourteen. She has published twelve books of poetry, two collections of short stories and two books for children, and has received numerous literary awards. Rivka Miriam has twice been the recipient of the Prime Minister's Award; she has also received the Goldberg Prize and the Holon Prize, both distinguished awards for Hebrew literature

Her books include Tree Touches Tree (1978), The Sounds Towards Them (1982), From Poems of Stone Mothers (1988), Place, Tiger (1994) Nearby Was the East (1996), Resting Jew (2000) Said the Investigator (2005), Miracle Owner, and Other Passers-by (2006), and My Father Commanded Me Not to Die (2007). Also a painter whose work was first shown at the Tel Aviv Museum when she was sixteen, Rivka Miriam has worked for many years as head of Beit Midrash Elul, an important Jerusalem Jewish Studies centre.

- from Linda Zisquit's introduction in MPT 3/9 Palestine

Poems & translations

Denotes poem / translation featured on website

reviews & features

- No reviews or features published in MPT -

Go Digital

Subscribe to the digital edition of MPT for access to all back issues and to the Exactly app. » View free trial issue

Contributor and student discounts

If you are a student, or if you contribute to MPT you are eligible for a great discount deal when you subscribe… » Subscribe now

Back to top
Supported by Arts Council England

Copyright © Modern Poetry in Translation and contributors
Website design ashbydesign
Developed by Code Frontiers
Powered by Storemill