Ilmar Lehtpere

Ilmar Lehtpere


Ilmar Lehtpere had a bilingual upbringing in Estonian and English and is Kristiina Ehin's English language translator. The Drums of Silence (Oleander Press, 2007), a volume of her selected poems in his translation, was awarded the Poetry Society Corneliu M. Popescu Prize for European Poetry in Translation, and her The Scent of Your Shadow (Arc, 2010) was named Poetry Book Society Recommended Translation. His other translations of Kristiina Ehin's work are The Final Going of Snow (Modern Poetry in Translation, 2011), Põletades pimedust – Burning the Darkness - An Dorchadas á Dhó (trilingual Estonian-English-Irish selected poems, Coiscéim, 2009), A Priceless Nest, (short stories, Oleander Press, 2009), Päevaseiskaja – South-Estonian Fairy Tales  (Huma, 2009) and Noorkuuhommik – New Moon Morning  (selected poems, 2007).  Three new Kristiina Ehin translations are in preparation.

He has also translated her play, A Life Without Feathers.  His translations of Kristiina Ehin's poetry and prose appear regularly in leading British, Irish and American literary magazines.  He has also translated Estonian runo songs as well as poetry by Ly Seppel, Andres Ehin and others. 

His own poetry has appeared in Estonian and Irish literary magazines. Wandering Towards Dawn (Lapwing, 2011) is a volume of his and Sadie Murphy's poetry. 

Poems & translations

Denotes poem / translation featured on website

reviews & features

Denotes review / feature appearing on this website

Go Digital

Subscribe to the digital edition of MPT for access to all back issues and to the Exactly app. » View free trial issue

Contributor and student discounts

If you are a student, or if you contribute to MPT you are eligible for a great discount deal when you subscribe… » Subscribe now

Back to top
Supported by Arts Council England

Copyright © Modern Poetry in Translation and contributors
Website design ashbydesign
Developed by Code Frontiers
Powered by Storemill